The Editor (Old)

This forum is for discussing anything related to The Quest editor.

Re: The Editor

Postby Jamie990 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:36 am

I'll have to watch for that, thanks for the warning Cat/Sylon (:
You have 20 save slots use them all. Save after every quest, save before going into a dungeon, save, save save!!
Jamie990
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:56 am

Re: The Editor

Postby Void » Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:19 pm

Can't seem to find the demo anywhere. I would like to try to use the editor.
Void
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:00 am

Re: The Editor

Postby Sylon / Redshift » Tue Jul 10, 2012 9:12 pm

Check this topic's starter post by Elendil. It contains the link to the page where you can download the PC demo version (under the 'demo' word : ).
User avatar
Sylon / Redshift
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: The Editor

Postby Yuri009 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:15 pm

Hello I from Russia, can't find the editor of levels of Legacy 1.05 anywhere, there can be you could send me it on mail please :(
Yuri009
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:06 pm

Re: The Editor

Postby Sylon / Redshift » Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:56 am

If you need the Legacy Editor, just write an email to us (redshift at redshift dot hu) and ask for it.
User avatar
Sylon / Redshift
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: The Editor

Postby grazzZapper » Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:47 pm

Hello everybody! :)

I have a major problem with my expansions. I have created custom base item types and pics and place a few tests inside the expansion world. As I try to start the quest game with my expansion enabled I get error:

TODO: <File description> has stopped working. :(

Does this mean I cannot use custom item types, or could I be missing something? Please reply. :?
grazzZapper
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: The Editor

Postby Elendil / Redshift » Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:07 pm

I've tried to create a base item type (with the required pics) and separately base item type pics and then changing the base item type's pics to the separately added pics. In either case I had no problems loading the expansion.

Maybe you added too large pictures? To hunt down the problem, you should start with a copy of your expansion which is working, then add one picture at a time to test which one(s) are problematic. If you find one, could you post it's type (gif, jpg, etc.) and dimensions? I can't make it work, but for others who might run into the same problem, it'll be good to know what doesn't work. ;)
User avatar
Elendil / Redshift
Site Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:35 am

Re: The Editor

Postby Turtleman » Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:36 am

I followed the links and I think I have the editor and the manuals. But the cart links to the demo and expansion MSI installer can't find the file. Then I noticed about emailing you. thank you. I would like to get whatever I'm missing to create an expansion. Thank you again.
Turtleman
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:15 am
Location: Kansas

Re: The Editor

Postby Turtleman » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:33 am

Elendil,

I'm pretty sure I got all of these correctly.
http://www.redshift.hu/quest/editor.zip
http://www.redshift.hu/TheQuestEditor.pdf
http://www.redshift.hu/TheQuestSystem.pdf
demo

How do I email you for the full PC version? The purchase option on the page doesn't take you to a cart.

Thanks,
Jesse
Turtleman
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:15 am
Location: Kansas

Re: The Editor

Postby Sylon / Redshift » Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:05 pm

You can purchase the full PC versions from us. Just email us - check http://www.redshift.hu for contact details.
User avatar
Sylon / Redshift
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: The Editor

Postby assensy » Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:45 am

When I run TheQuestEditor, I get this error:

Image

OS: Windows 7
assensy
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:50 am

Re: The Editor

Postby Schicko » Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:12 pm

@Sylon I sent you a PM about an editor related problem I have but it is in my "Outbox" folder instead of the "Sent Messages" folder.

Edit - Here it is:

Code: Select all
createobjectlist("");
addobjecttolist("alchemy","Alchemy");
addobjecttolist("block","Block");
addobjecttolist("disarm","Disarm");
addobjecttolist("environment","Environment Magic");
addobjecttolist("heavya","Heavy Armor");
addobjecttolist("heavyw","Heavy Weapon");
addobjecttolist("lighta","Light Armor");
addobjecttolist("lightw","Light Weapon");
addobjecttolist("lockpick","Lockpick");
addobjecttolist("mercantile","Mercantile");
addobjecttolist("mind","Mind Magic");
addobjecttolist("persuade","Persuade");
addobjecttolist("repair","Repair");
addobjecttolist("stealth","Stealth");
showobjectlist();

if(getobjectlistresult=="alchemy")
{
skill="Alchemy";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="block")
{
skill="Block";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="disarm")
{
skill="Disarm";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="environment")
{
skill="Environment Magic";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="heavya")
{
skill="Heavy Armor";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="heavyw")
{
skill="Heavy Weapon";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="lighta")
{
skill="Light Armor";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="lightw")
{
skill="Light Weapon";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="lockpick")
{
skill="Lockpick";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="mercantile")
{
skill="Mercantile";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="mind")
{
skill="Mind Magic";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="persuade")
{
skill="Persuade";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="repair")
{
skill="Repair";
}
else
if(getobjectlistresult=="stealth")
{
skill="Stealth";
}

oldvalue=player.getskillvalue("%s","skill");
message("Current value of %s is %d","skill","oldvalue");

message("Change hundreds value:");
addobjecttolist("0","0");
addobjecttolist("1","1");
addobjecttolist("2","2");
addobjecttolist("3","3");
addobjecttolist("4","4");
addobjecttolist("5","5");
addobjecttolist("6","6");
addobjecttolist("7","7");
addobjecttolist("8","8");
addobjecttolist("9","9");
hundreds=100*getobjectlistresult();

message("Change tens value:");
addobjecttolist("0","0");
addobjecttolist("1","1");
addobjecttolist("2","2");
addobjecttolist("3","3");
addobjecttolist("4","4");
addobjecttolist("5","5");
addobjecttolist("6","6");
addobjecttolist("7","7");
addobjecttolist("8","8");
addobjecttolist("9","9");
tens=10*getobjectlistresult();

message("Change ones value:");
addobjecttolist("0","0");
addobjecttolist("1","1");
addobjecttolist("2","2");
addobjecttolist("3","3");
addobjecttolist("4","4");
addobjecttolist("5","5");
addobjecttolist("6","6");
addobjecttolist("7","7");
addobjecttolist("8","8");
addobjecttolist("9","9");
ones=getobjectlistresult();

cost=(oldvalue-hundreds-tens-ones)*1000;
message("Cost for this is %d\g","cost");
if (player.getgold()>"%d","cost")
{
player.addskillvalue("%s",(%d+%d+%d-%d, "hundreds","tens","ones","oldvalue"), "skill");
player.removegold("%d","cost");
}
else
{
message("You don't have enough gold.");   
}


It is supposed to allow the player to change the value of their skills and get/lose money depending on the difference between their old and new skill values.

I am a noob at scripting and I'm not really sure if I am even doing this right so far. I tried to use C conversion characters, but I don't think I am using these properly or if they are even appropriate for the editor's scripting language (I heard somewhere that it was similar to C which is why I wrote what I thought was logical), so the script isn't working. :? :lol:

Edit2:
I realise that I am doing the part of the script which chooses skills wrong. I will probably need to use something like if getobjectlistresult()==alchemy skill="Alchemy" but for all of the skills...

Edit3:
I changed the thing from Edit2.
User avatar
Schicko
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:02 am
Location: In your inventory

Re: The Editor

Postby Sylon / Redshift » Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:45 pm

Got it! Can you please copy your message's editor-related part to this forum? So Elendil can check it out easily.
User avatar
Sylon / Redshift
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: The Editor

Postby Catacomber » Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:44 am

When I get those error messages, I just click Ignore and everything is fine. That doesn't mean it would be fine for you, just saying.
User avatar
Catacomber
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:20 am
Location: New York City

Re: The Editor

Postby Elendil / Redshift » Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:24 pm

I haven't really used the scripting in The Quest, but let me take a look.

First, AddObjectToList works with object ids. There are ids for the skills (you can look them up in the editor, under "Manage Skills"). However, I'm not sure it'll work, but you can try. So, instead of
Code: Select all
addobjecttolist("alchemy","Alchemy");
use this:
Code: Select all
addobjecttolist("base_alchemy","Alchemy");
etc.

GetObjectListResult is a function. Use function call syntax (parentheses). And of course it returns an object id, so you must check that. Also, GetSkillValue needs a skill id, so use this:
Code: Select all
skill = getobjectlistresult();
if (skill == "base_alchemy") {
    skillname = "Alchemy";
}
etc.

The C format codes don't work in Quest scripting. (Even in C, they only work in format functions, not everywhere. ;))

You can concatenate values with "+" in The Quest. So, instead of:
Code: Select all
oldvalue = player.getskillvalue("%s","skill");
message("Current value of %s is %d","skill","oldvalue");
use this:
Code: Select all
oldvalue = player.getskillvalue(skill);
message("Current value of " + skillname + " is " + oldvalue);


Aaaaaand, the next part won't work. Because as I said, the object list needs an object id. You can't add random values to it. I don't think you can do what you want with just one script.

You might be able to do it by creating an npc, and using dialogue topics + scripts. Please read the available documentation, linked in the first post. Then you'll at least know how to use the available functions. ;)
User avatar
Elendil / Redshift
Site Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:35 am

Re: The Editor

Postby Schicko » Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:56 pm

Elendil, thanks for all the help you gave me. It's allowed me to fix the script(s). :D

Here's a link to an expansion with it on if anyone is interested. Entrance is from Matras. The name of the destination is "Shik's Abode". Suggestions and constructive criticisms are welcome.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qkgkchqmbf11jfr/TheQuestShik.pdb?dl=0

Edit: Using the skillls/attributes editor causes overflow problems when changing the value to below that of the already included value caused by race ability. E.g., changing value of a Derth's Heal Magic to below 10 will increase it to ~65535. I might fix this later on if I get time.. :lol:

Edit2: I capped the minimum values that the script can decrease them to to 11 which should fix the overflow problems. Also added a new face for the npc. :D

Todo: Disable editing healing magic for rasvims and undead magic for non-rasvims.

Edit 3: Rewrote on the new editor. Now has a enchantment storage value selection mechanism for the enchant option. Still need to fix overflow problems though.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/t6lrjhurx2tt7 ... world?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/1jx3cwvsf2j4p ... 0.pak?dl=0
User avatar
Schicko
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:02 am
Location: In your inventory

Previous

Return to Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest